Author Topic: Liposuction Forum - Treatment for Lipedema Near Pittsburgh  (Read 7109 times)

Offline DrBermant

• Plastic Surgeon - Site Owner
  • Administrator
  • Mentor Member
    • View Profile
    • Bermant Plastic Surgery
Liposuction Forum - Treatment for Lipedema Near Pittsburgh
« on: June 24, 2011, 09:59:47 PM »
Dr. Bermant,
I suffer from Lipedema. Recently, I attended a conference in a suburb of Chicago at which Dr Stefan Rapprich of Darmstadt, Germany, made a presentation about Lipedema and the efficacy of Tumescent  Local Anesthesia With Vibrating Micro Cannula Liposuction. He confirmed my diagnoses and discussed this procedure with me. I am a resident Pittsburgh and am seeking a plastic surgeon closer to my home  to discuss the appropriateness of this procedure for my condition. Can you assist me with a referral  to a physician in my area ?
I am very distressed by this condition and would greatly appreciate a response from you at your earliest convenience. If you cannot make the requested referral, I would be interested in knowing whether you have treated patients with Lipedema, and what method you have used.

Thank you for your attention and anticipated response.

Sincerely,

Here is a summary of his article in the Dermatology Literature:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21166777

The volume of the leg was reduced by 6.99 %. Pain, as the predominant symptom in lipedema, was significantly reduced from 7.2 ± 2.2 to 2.1 ± 2.1 (p < 0.001). Quality of life as a measure of the psychological strain caused by lipedema improved from 8.7 ± 1.7 to 3.6 ± 2.5 (p < 0.001). Other parameters also showed a significant improvement and the over-all severity score improved in all patients.