Author Topic: Male Chest Lift Forum - Severe Gynaecomastia surgery Surgeon Requests Email Help  (Read 3143 times)

Offline DrBermant

• Plastic Surgeon - Site Owner
  • Administrator
  • Mentor Member
    • View Profile
    • Bermant Plastic Surgery
Dear Dr Bermant I am a Plastic Surgeon based in the UK and like your online videos on Youtube. I wanted some advice on how to deal with patients of severe Grade III gynaecomastia particularly those following bariatric surgery. Any advice would be gratefully received. Warm regards

This should not be construed as medical advice. I am a retired Board Certified Plastic Surgeon.

I have been puzzled how to address and answer this email question from a surgeon. The problem of Gynecomastia With Excess Skin comes in different degrees after major weight loss like after gastric bypass or other variations of Bariatric Surgery. These all tend to be quite complex sculptures especially when trying to minimize the extent of the skin scars that extend around the entire body. A surgeon has to be comfortable enough with the compromise issues of a Skin Reduction Chest Lift vs. extending the scar all the way around the back.

Beyond that there are the many other problems seen with the After Weight Loss Patient extending throughout the entire body. Experience builds judgment needed to decide what other compromises are to be made, order of surgery, timing (waiting for the skin to equilibrate) and so many other factors, that make an email or post woefully inadequate. Actually a single course, book, or video would probably not be sufficient for all of the variations. The YouTube video is a meager introduction to the resources I posted online on the subject. But that too is only the beginning before tacking such a complex problem.